Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

anniversary

***

When I started this blog exactly one year ago, 365 consecutive posts ago, I never thought that it would bring the fun and opportunities that I’ve experienced over the past year. I started it mainly as an exercise and a way to document for myself where my life was going. But I’ve met so many nice people and enjoyed myself in so many ways directly due to this blog.

So I want to thank all of you who have ever visited this site for your support. It’s really gratifying to think that there are others who have some of the same strange interests that I do, and that I’m not just writing into the wind.

To celebrate, I’m listing my favorite posts from the last year. They may not all have garnered a lot of hits, but I think you’ll enjoy catching up with them. Sometimes people don’t have the time at first to read a long essay, follow the links, or listen to an audio clip when it’s first posted, so now is the time to sit back, relax, and catch up with what you’ve missed. Here, grouped by category, but in no particular order otherwise, are my top 30 favorite interviews, stories, poems, essays, and photos of the past year.

If you like this blog, the one single way you can best help spread the word is to please click on the Facebook or Twitter share buttons at the bottom of each post each time you see something that you enjoy. It’s incredible what a difference it makes in the number of views a particular post gets, and it gives me encouragement. Again thanks for a great year, and  Music will be back tomorrow!

Interviews

Rodney King, the Interview: https://jackshalom.net/2014/12/20/923/

Tales of Highdini: Magician Steve Spill Spills the Beans: https://jackshalom.net/2015/04/03/tales-of-highdini-and-more-magician-steve-spill-spills-the-beans/

The Outsider Artist, Don Porcella: https://jackshalom.net/2015/08/06/the-outsider-as-artist/

My Son the Waiter: A Jewish Tragedy: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/08/my-most-unforgettable-theatre-performance/

To Infinity and Beyond: The Buzz Aldrin Interview: https://jackshalom.net/2015/09/25/to-infinity-and-beyond-the-buzz-aldrin-interview/

They Shoot Black People, Don’t They: Cartoonist Keith Knight: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/26/a-room-with-a-view-wagering-it-all-on-one-scene/

A Little Sparrow Told Me, Activist Poet and Holy Fool, Sparrow:  https://jackshalom.net/2015/09/11/a-little-sparrow-told-me/

Stories and Poems

Michael Potato: https://jackshalom.net/2015/01/16/michael-potato/

Marcie At Work: https://jackshalom.net/2015/04/24/marcie-at-work/

Poem: Autumn: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/20/poem-autumn/

Poem: Adornments: https://jackshalom.net/2014/12/02/poem-adornments/

Poem: Paths: https://wordpress.com/post/78159920/1268/

Essays on Writing, Theatre, Education, and Magic

A Matter of Taste: https://jackshalom.net/2015/09/08/a-matter-of-taste/

The Actor Who Made Me Gasp: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/08/my-most-unforgettable-theatre-performance/

Reflections on a Year of Teaching: https://jackshalom.net/2015/05/06/reflections-on-a-year-of-teaching/

On Patience: https://jackshalom.net/2014/12/06/patience/

Fumbling, Failing, Falling: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/19/fumbling-failing-falling-wild-mind-living-the-writers-life/

Breathing Room: https://jackshalom.net/2015/01/28/take-a-deep-breath/

A Room with a View: Wagering It All On One Scene: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/26/a-room-with-a-view-wagering-it-all-on-one-scene/

A Warning: https://jackshalom.net/2015/08/12/a-warning/

Time For Enlightenment: https://jackshalom.net/2015/08/29/time-for-enlightenment/

Morley: “If You’re Feeling Helpless”: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/22/morley-make-a-mess-then-find-a-way-to-make-it-beautiful/

Photos

Face the Music: https://jackshalom.net/2015/01/31/face-the-music/

Joy Ride: https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/16/joy-ride/

State Police/Police State:  https://jackshalom.net/2014/11/30/state-police-police-state/

The New World: https://jackshalom.net/2015/10/02/the-new-world/

God Bless America: https://jackshalom.net/2015/03/29/god-bless-america/

Clean-O-Rama: https://jackshalom.net/2015/04/22/clean-o-rama/

Milk Chocolate Overlords:  https://jackshalom.net/2015/09/06/i-for-one-welcome-our-milk-chocolate-overlords/

Snow Tree: https://jackshalom.net/2015/03/22/snow-tree/